Useful contact

– For recruitment and internship files: rhcom.u1149@inserm.fr

– For your orders : commandes.u1149@inserm.fr

– To request a computer intervention: info.u1149@inserm.fr

– For Health and Safety questions: hs.u1149@inserm.fr

– Website editorial committee: To propose news, events and publications to add to the website: cellcom.u1149@inserm.fr


 
Loredana

Antigen presentation to T cells

Team Saveanu

Department Nephrology, Immunology and Hematology

 

Leader(s)

 

Line-up

Team Leader(s)

 

Presentation

Our team aims to understand how the immune system recognizes and eliminates pathogen-infected or cancerous cells. To eliminate these cells, T cells must recognize them through a process that requires specific priming of naive T cells against antigens expressed by a cancerous or pathogen-infected cells. Two immune cell populations are essential in this process: myeloid (antigen-presenting) cells and T lymphocytes.

First, T cells combine antigenic and inflammatory signals through their antigen T cell receptors (TCR) and cytokine receptors. Myeloid cells act at two levels: firstly, by presenting the antigenic peptide-loaded major histocompatibility complex (MHC) on their surface, which activates the TCR; and secondly by producing a plethora of cytokines that activate the cytokine receptors expressed by T lymphocytes. Signaling cascades downstream of TCR and cytokine receptor activation are tightly regulated by myeloid cells. With respect to pathogen-infected cells, T cell recognition is highly dependent on pathogen-host cell interactions.

In this context, our team is investigating:

  1. How are T cells activated by their TCR? This complex situation involves antigen processing and presentation by the antigen presenting cell and TCR signaling on the T cell. In myeloid cells, Loredana Saveanu’s group is investigating how endocytic trafficking controls antigen presentation and innate immune receptors activation. In T lymphocytes, they are studying antigen T cell receptor signaling. Their goal is to improve T cell antigen receptor signaling and the ability of myeloid cells to eliminate cancerous or pathogen-infected cells.
  2. How do myeloid cells regulate T cell activation through cytokine production? These mechanisms are highly dependent on cytokine trafficking in myeloid cells and cytokine receptor signaling in T lymphocytes. Odile Devergne’s group, which joined our team in 2024, is investigating (studying) the molecular mechanisms that regulate the biogenesis and secretion of IL-12 cytokine family members in myeloid cells and aims to study the trafficking and of the IL-12 cytokine family receptors in T cells.
  3. How do pathogen-host cell interactions affect the host immune response? In this field, we aim to understand how the pathogenic bacteria subvert the immune system to survive and how we can modify host-pathogen interactions to develop new ways to fight bacterial infections. Philippe Verbeke and Colette Kanellopoulos-Langevin are studying host-pathogen interactions in bacterial infections with the aim of finding new therapeutic targets to prevent bacterial proliferation and to develop new methods of vaccination against bacteria that represent a public health problem.

 

 

Landmark publications

  • Publication date : 01 August 2023 More

    M1-aminopeptidase family – beyond antigen-trimming activities
    Curr Opin Immunol.

    Authors : Evnouchidou Irini Koumantou Despoina Nugue Mathilde Saveanu Loredana

  • Publication date : 09 June 2023 More

    Activating FcγR function depends on endosomal-signaling platforms
    iScience.

    Authors : Benadda Samira Nugue Mathilde Koumantou Despoina Bens Marcelle Mariacristina De Luca Olivier Pellé Monteiro Renato Evnouchidou Irini Saveanu Loredana

  • Publication date : 01 April 2022 More

    The role of endocytic trafficking in antigen T cell receptor activation
    Biomed J.

    Authors : Evnouchidou Irini Caillens Vivien Koumantou Despoina Saveanu Loredana

  • Publication date : 20 October 2020 More

    The Role of Insulin Regulated Aminopeptidase in Endocytic Trafficking and Receptor Signaling in Immune Cells
    Front Mol Biosci.

    Authors : Delphyne Descamps Evnouchidou Irini Caillens Vivien Carole Drajac Sabine Riffault Peter van Endert Saveanu Loredana

  • Publication date : 02 June 2020 More

    IRAP-dependent endosomal T cell receptor signalling is essential for T cell responses
    Nat Commun.

    Authors : Evnouchidou Irini Pascal Chappert Benadda Samira Andres Zucchetti Mirjana Weimershaus Bens Marcelle Caillens Vivien Koumantou Despoina Lotersztajn Sophie Peter van Endert Jean Davoust Guermonprez Pierre Claire Hivroz David A Gross Saveanu Loredana

  • Publication date : 02 September 2019 More

    Is there a place and role for endocytic TCR signaling?
    Immunol Rev.

    Authors : Saveanu Loredana Zucchetti AE Evnouchidou Irini Ardouin L Hivroz C

  • Publication date : 20 March 2017 More

    IRAP+ endosomes restrict TLR9 activation and signaling
    Nat Immunol.

    Authors : Babdor J Descamps D Adiko AC Tohmé M Maschalidi S Evnouchidou Irini Vasconcellos LR De Luca M Mauvais FX Garfa-Traore M Brinkmann MM Chignard M Manoury B Saveanu Loredana

 
 

Site de référence pour les Appels à Projets


Les dernières publications marquantes

  • Publication date : 09 April 2024 More

    Prognosis algorithms for acute decompensation of cirrhosis and ACLF
    Liver Int.

    Authors : Valainathan Shantha Qing Xie Vicente Arroyo Rautou Pierre-Emmanuel

  • Publication date : 01 March 2024 More

    Hepatocellular carcinoma in patients with non-alcoholic fatty liver disease is associated with heterogeneous pattern of fat infiltration in skeletal muscles
    Eur Radiol.

    Authors : Maxime Nachit Dioguardi Burgio Marco Abyzov Anton Garteiser Philippe Paradis Valérie Vilgrain Valérie Isabelle Leclercq Van Beers Bernard

  • Publication date : 27 February 2024 More

    Predictive Role of Hepatic Venous Pressure Gradient in Bleeding Events Among Cirrhotic Patients Undergoing Orthotopic Liver Transplantation
    JHEP Rep.

    Authors : Mikhael Giabicani Pauline Joly Stéphanie Sigaut Clara Timsit Pauline Devauchelle Fédérica Dondero Durand François Pierre Antoine Froissant Myriam Lamamri Payancé Audrey Aymeric Restoux Olivier Roux Tristan Thibault-Sogorb Shantha Ram Valainathan Lesurtel Mickaël Rautou Pierre-Emmanuel Weiss Emmanuel

Contacts utiles

– Pour les dossiers de recrutement et stage : rhcom.u1149@inserm.fr

– Pour vos commandes : commandes.u1149@inserm.fr

– Pour demander une intervention informatique : info.u1149@inserm.fr

– Pour des questions Hygiène et Sécurité : hs.u1149@inserm.fr

– Comité éditorial du site web : Pour proposer des actualités, évènements et publications à ajouter au site web, ou remonter un problème : cellcom.u1149@inserm.fr


 
Loredana

Présentation d’antigène aux lymphocytes T

Équipe Saveanu

Département Néphrologie, Immunologie et Hématologie

 

Responsable(s)

 

Composition de l'équipe

Responsable(s)

 

Présentation

Notre équipe vise à comprendre comment le système immunitaire reconnaît et élimine les cellules infectées par des pathogènes ou les cellules cancéreuses. Pour éliminer ces cellules, les lymphocyres T doivent les reconnaître par un processus qui nécessite un amorçage spécifique des cellules T naïves contre les antigènes exprimés par les cellules cancéreuses ou les cellules infectées par des agents pathogènes. Deux populations de cellules immunitaires sont essentielles dans ce processus : les cellules myéloïdes (présentatrices d’antigènes) et les lymphocytes T.

Tout d’abord, les lymphocytes T combinent les signaux antigéniques et inflammatoires par l’intermédiaire de leurs récepteurs à l’antigène (TCR) et de leurs récepteurs aux cytokines. Les cellules myéloïdes agissent à deux niveaux, d’une part en présentant à leur surface le complexe majeur d’histocompatibilité (CMH) chargé de peptides antigéniques qui active le TCR, et d’autre part en produisant une pléthore de cytokines qui activent les récepteurs de cytokines exprimés par les lymphocytes T. Les cascades de signalisation en aval de l’activation du TCR et des récepteurs de cytokines sont étroitement régulées par les cellules myéloïdes. En ce qui concerne les cellules infectées par des pathogènes, leur reconnaissance par les lymphocytes T dépend fortement des interactions entre le type de pathogène et la cellule hôte.

Dans ce contexte, notre équipe étudie :

  1. Comment les lymphocytes T sont-ils activés par leur TCR ? Cette situation complexe implique la présentation de l’antigène par la cellule présentatrice de l’antigène et la signalisation par le TCR par la cellule T. Dans les cellules myéloïdes, le groupe de Loredana Saveanu étudie comment le trafic endocytique contrôle la présentation des antigènes et l’activation des récepteurs de l’immunité innée. Dans les lymphocytes T, il étudie la signalisation des récepteurs antigéniques. Son objectif est d’améliorer la signalisation des récepteurs antigéniques des lymphocytes T et la capacité des cellules myéloïdes à éliminer les cellules cancéreuses ou infectées par des agents pathogènes.
  2. Comment les cellules myéloïdes régulent-elles l’activation des lymphocytes T par la production de cytokines ? Ces mécanismes dépendent fortement du trafic des cytokines dans les cellules myéloïdes et de la signalisation des récepteurs de cytokines dans les lymphocytes T. Le groupe d’Odile Devergne, qui a rejoint notre équipe en 2024, étudie les mécanismes moléculaires qui régulent la biogenèse et la sécrétion des cytokines de la famille de l’IL-12 dans les cellules myéloïdes et vise à étudier le trafic et la signalisation des récepteurs de cette famille de cytokines dans les lymphocytes T.
  3. Comment les interactions entre les pathogènes et les cellules hôtes affectent-elles la réponse immunitaire de l’hôte ? Dans ce domaine, nous cherchons à comprendre comment les bactéries pathogènes détournent le système immunitaire pour survivre et comment il est possible de modifier ces interactions hôte-pathogène pour développer de nouveaux moyens de lutte contre ces infections. Philippe Verbeke et Colette Kanellopoulos-Langevin étudient les interactions hôte-bactéries pathogènes. Leur but est de trouver de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques pour empêcher la prolifération bactérienne et de développer de nouvelles méthodes de vaccination contre les bactéries qui constituent un problème de santé publique.
 

Publications marquantes

  • Date de publication : 01 août 2023 En savoir +

    M1-aminopeptidase family – beyond antigen-trimming activities
    Curr Opin Immunol.

    Auteurs : Evnouchidou Irini Koumantou Despoina Nugue Mathilde Saveanu Loredana

  • Date de publication : 09 juin 2023 En savoir +

    Activating FcγR function depends on endosomal-signaling platforms
    iScience.

    Auteurs : Benadda Samira Nugue Mathilde Koumantou Despoina Bens Marcelle Mariacristina De Luca Olivier Pellé Monteiro Renato Evnouchidou Irini Saveanu Loredana

  • Date de publication : 01 avril 2022 En savoir +

    The role of endocytic trafficking in antigen T cell receptor activation
    Biomed J.

    Auteurs : Evnouchidou Irini Caillens Vivien Koumantou Despoina Saveanu Loredana

  • Date de publication : 20 octobre 2020 En savoir +

    The Role of Insulin Regulated Aminopeptidase in Endocytic Trafficking and Receptor Signaling in Immune Cells
    Front Mol Biosci.

    Auteurs : Delphyne Descamps Evnouchidou Irini Caillens Vivien Carole Drajac Sabine Riffault Peter van Endert Saveanu Loredana

  • Date de publication : 02 juin 2020 En savoir +

    IRAP-dependent endosomal T cell receptor signalling is essential for T cell responses
    Nat Commun.

    Auteurs : Evnouchidou Irini Pascal Chappert Benadda Samira Andres Zucchetti Mirjana Weimershaus Bens Marcelle Caillens Vivien Koumantou Despoina Lotersztajn Sophie Peter van Endert Jean Davoust Guermonprez Pierre Claire Hivroz David A Gross Saveanu Loredana

  • Date de publication : 02 septembre 2019 En savoir +

    Is there a place and role for endocytic TCR signaling?
    Immunol Rev.

    Auteurs : Saveanu Loredana Zucchetti AE Evnouchidou Irini Ardouin L Hivroz C

  • Date de publication : 20 mars 2017 En savoir +

    IRAP+ endosomes restrict TLR9 activation and signaling
    Nat Immunol.

    Auteurs : Babdor J Descamps D Adiko AC Tohmé M Maschalidi S Evnouchidou Irini Vasconcellos LR De Luca M Mauvais FX Garfa-Traore M Brinkmann MM Chignard M Manoury B Saveanu Loredana

 
 

Site de référence pour les Appels à Projets


Les dernières publications marquantes

  • Date de publication : 09 avril 2024 En savoir +

    Prognosis algorithms for acute decompensation of cirrhosis and ACLF
    Liver Int.

    Auteurs : Valainathan Shantha Qing Xie Vicente Arroyo Rautou Pierre-Emmanuel

  • Date de publication : 01 mars 2024 En savoir +

    Hepatocellular carcinoma in patients with non-alcoholic fatty liver disease is associated with heterogeneous pattern of fat infiltration in skeletal muscles
    Eur Radiol.

    Auteurs : Maxime Nachit Dioguardi Burgio Marco Abyzov Anton Garteiser Philippe Paradis Valérie Vilgrain Valérie Isabelle Leclercq Van Beers Bernard

  • Date de publication : 27 février 2024 En savoir +

    Predictive Role of Hepatic Venous Pressure Gradient in Bleeding Events Among Cirrhotic Patients Undergoing Orthotopic Liver Transplantation
    JHEP Rep.

    Auteurs : Mikhael Giabicani Pauline Joly Stéphanie Sigaut Clara Timsit Pauline Devauchelle Fédérica Dondero Durand François Pierre Antoine Froissant Myriam Lamamri Payancé Audrey Aymeric Restoux Olivier Roux Tristan Thibault-Sogorb Shantha Ram Valainathan Lesurtel Mickaël Rautou Pierre-Emmanuel Weiss Emmanuel