Abstract

Background & aims: Recent non-malignant non-cirrhotic portal venous system thrombosis (PVT) is a rare condition. Among risk factors for PVT, cytomegalovirus (CMV) disease is usually listed based on a small number of reported cases. The aim of this study was to determine the characteristics and outcomes of PVT associated with CMV disease.

Methods: We conducted a French multicenter retrospective study comparing patients with recent PVT and CMV disease (“CMV positive”; n = 23) to patients with recent PVT for whom CMV testing was negative (“CMV negative”; n = 53) or unavailable (“CMV unknown”; n = 297).

Results: Compared to patients from the “CMV negative” and “CMV unknown” groups, patients from the “CMV positive” group were younger, more frequently had fever, and had higher heart rate, lymphocyte count and serum ALT levels (p ≤0.01 for all). The prevalence of immunosuppression did not differ between the 3 groups (4%, 4% and 6%, respectively). Extension of PVT was similar between the 3 groups. Thirteen out of 23 “CMV positive” patients had another risk factor for thrombosis. Besides CMV disease, the number of risk factors for thrombosis was similar between the 3 groups. Heterozygosity for the prothrombin G20210A gene variant was more frequent in “CMV positive” patients (22%) than in the “CMV negative” (4%, p = 0.01) and “CMV unknown” (8%, p = 0.03) groups. Recanalization rate was not influenced by CMV status.

Conclusions: In patients with recent PVT, features of mononucleosis syndrome should raise suspicion of CMV disease. CMV disease does not influence thrombosis extension nor recanalization. More than half of “CMV positive” patients have another risk factor for thrombosis, with a particular link to the prothrombin G20210A gene variant.

Lay summary: Patients with cytomegalovirus (CMV)-associated portal venous system thrombosis have similar thrombosis extension and evolution as patients without CMV disease. However, patients with CMV-associated portal venous system thrombosis more frequently have the prothrombin G20210A gene variant, suggesting that these entities act synergistically to promote thrombosis.

Links

Résumé

Arrière-plan & Objectifs : La thrombose récente du système veineux portal (TVP) non maligne non cirrhotique est une maladie rare. Parmi les facteurs de risque de PVT, la maladie à cytomégalovirus (CMV) est généralement répertoriée sur la base d’un petit nombre de cas signalés. Le but de cette étude était de déterminer les caractéristiques et les résultats de la TVP associée à la maladie à CMV.

Méthodes : Nous avons mené une étude rétrospective multicentrique française comparant des patients atteints d’une maladie PVT et CMV récente (“CMV positif” ; n = 23) aux patients avec TVP récente pour lesquels le test CMV était négatif (« CMV négatif » ; n = 53) ou indisponible (« CMV inconnu » ; n = 297).

Résultats : Par rapport aux patients des groupes « CMV négatif » et « CMV inconnu », les patients des groupes « CMV positif” étaient plus jeunes, avaient plus fréquemment de la fièvre et avaient une fréquence cardiaque, un nombre de lymphocytes et des taux sériques d’ALAT plus élevés (p 0,01 pour tous). La prévalence de l’immunosuppression ne différait pas entre les 3 groupes (4 %, 4 % et 6 %, respectivement). L’extension de la TVP était similaire entre les 3 groupes. Treize des 23 patients « positifs pour le CMV » présentaient un autre facteur de risque de thrombose. Outre la maladie à CMV, le nombre de facteurs de risque de thrombose était similaire entre les 3 groupes. L’hétérozygotie pour le variant du gène de la prothrombine G20210A était plus fréquente chez les patients « CMV positif » (22 %) que dans les groupes « CMV négatif » (4 %, p = 0,01) et « CMV inconnu » (8 %, p = 0,03). Le taux de recanalisation n’a pas été influencé par le statut CMV.

Conclusions : Chez les patients avec une TVP récente, les caractéristiques du syndrome de mononucléose devraient faire suspecter une maladie à CMV. La maladie à CMV n’influence pas l’extension de la thrombose ni la recanalisation. Plus de la moitié des patients « CMV positifs » présentent un autre facteur de risque de thrombose, avec un lien particulier avec le variant du gène de la prothrombine G20210A.

Résumé général : Les patients atteints de thrombose du système veineux portal associée au cytomégalovirus (CMV) ont une extension et une évolution de la thrombose similaires à celles des patients sans maladie à CMV. Cependant, les patients atteints de thrombose du système veineux portal associée au CMV ont plus fréquemment le variant du gène de la prothrombine G20210A, ce qui suggère que ces entités agissent en synergie pour favoriser la thrombose.

Liens