Team leader

Presentation

Our team studies the mechanisms underlying chronic liver disease progression to cirrhosis and its complications, with an emphasis on the identification of prognosis markers and therapeutic targets for fatty liver diseases.Our research program focuses on the identification of immunometabolic targets and biomarkers of liver and systemic inflammation.

Non-alcoholic and alcoholic fatty liver diseases (NAFLD, ALD) are leading causes of liver diseases worldwide. They share common pathogenic features including steatosis and steatohepatitis (alcoholic-ASH and non-alcoholic-NASH) that lead to fibrosis and cirrhosis. Persistent inflammation is a driving force of liver fibrosis progression during NAFLD and ALD. Among patients with cirrhosis, excessive inflammation results in the development of multiorgan failure (defining acute-on-chronic liver failure, ACLF), which often leads to death. The lack of treatment highlights the urgent need for new prognosis markers and specific therapeutic targets that could limit liver injury, fibrosis, progression of cirrhosis to ACLF, and favour liver regeneration.

Ongoing studies include:

  1. The mechanisms underlying monocyte/macrophage reprogramming and the impact on fatty liver disease progression to fibrosis, and on liver regeneration. We target specific pathways we recently uncovered, including canonical and non canonical autophagy, macrophage apoptosis and lipid metabolic targets such as monoacylglycerol lipase (Louvet, Hepatology 2011 ; Mallat, J Hepatol 2013 ; Mallat Am J Physiol 2013 ; Wan Hepatology 2014 ; Gandoura J Hepatol 2015 ; Lodder Autophagy 2015 ; Denaes, 2016, Sci Rep ; Gual, 2017 Am J Physiol ;  Weiss, J Hepatol 2017 ; Habib Gut 2018 ;  Tardelli, Hepatology 2019 ; Tardelli, J Lipid Res 2019 ; Allaire, J Hepatol 2019).
  2. The role of adaptive immune cells (Th17) and non conventional T lymphocytes, in particular Mucosal-associated invariant T (MAIT) cells, in the control of inflammation at sequential steps of fatty liver progression (Guillot, Hepatology 2014 ; Hegde Nat Com 2018 ; Toubal Nat Rev Immunol 2019).
  3. Novel biomarkers, targets and clinical studies evaluating new therapeutic strategies in NAFLD, cirrhosis and ACLF, a syndrome we characterized and in which systemic inflammation is a major trigger (Moreau, Gastroenterology 2013,Gustot Hepatology 2016, Claria J Hepatol 2016, Claria Hepatology 2018, Fernandez, Gastroenterology 2019).
  4. The RHU QUID-NASH projecs, led by Pr Dominique Valla, aims to develop a virtual biopsy for diabetic patients with non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, and to improve the development of new treatments. The project will combine radiomic, métabolomic, transcriptomic and genomic data.

Networks : In addition to RHU QUID-NASH, our group is a founding team of the European Consortium for the Study of Chronic Liver Failure (EF-CLIF) and the French-Indian network (LIA) and Labex Inflamex.

Funding: Inserm, Université Paris-Diderot, Laboratory of Excellence Inflamex, National research agency (ANR), Fondation pour la Recherche médicale (FRM), french associations for the study of the liver and for digestive diseases (AFEF, SNFGE), RHU QUID-NASH Inserm-Transfert, Assistance Publique Hopitaux de Paris (PHRC),

2019-01-16 13.42.37

Réponses inflammatoires et stress dans les maladies chroniques du foie

Équipe Lotersztajn / Gilgenkrantz

Département Hepato‐gastroenterologie

 

Responsable(s)

 

Composition de l'équipe

 

Présentation

Notre équipe étudie les mécanismes impliqués dans la progression des maladies chroniques du foie en particulier dans la progression de la fibrose vers la cirrhose et ses complications. Notre programme de recherche vise notamment à identifier des marqueurs pronostics et thérapeutiques et des cibles immuno-métaboliques de l’inflammation hépatique et systémique.

La stéatopathie métabolique (NAFLD/) et la maladie alcoolique du foie (MAF) sont les deux causes principales de maladie chronique du foie dans le monde. La stéatose, définie par l’accumulation d’’acides gras intra-hépatocytaires, est un trait commun initiateur de la NAFLD et de la MAF qui peut évoluer vers une stéatohépatite (NASH ou ASH). Un défaut de régénération du foie est observé aux différentes étapes de ces affections. Si rien n’interrompt l’agression chronique, la stéatohépatite induira une fibrose qui aboutira à une cirrhose. L’inflammation chronique est un acteur incontournable de ce processus fibrogène. Chez les patients cirrhotiques, une inflammation excessive est susceptible d’induire une défaillance multi-organes encore appelée ACLF (Acute-on-chronic liver failure) dont le pronostic est extrêmement sévère. L’absence de traitement au cours de ces différentes étapes de la maladie souligne la nécessité d’identifier de nouveaux marqueurs pronostics et des cibles thérapeutiques limitant la fibrose, sa progression vers une cirrhose, l’ACLF et favorisant la régénération.

Nos travaux actuels cherchent à identifier :

  1. Les mécanismes qui sous-tendent la reprogrammation des monocytes/macrophages au cours de la progression de la stéatophatie métabolique vers la fibrose avec un intérêt particulier pour les voies canoniques et non canoniques de l’autophagie, l’apoptose macrophagique et certaines cibles métaboliques lipidiques comme la monoacylglycerol lipase (Louvet, Hepatology 2011 ; Mallat, J Hepatol 2013 ; Mallat Am J Physiol 2013 ; Wan Hepatology 2014 ; Gandoura J Hepatol 2015 ; Lodder Autophagy 2015 ; Denaes, 2016, Sci Rep ; Gual, 2017 Am J Physiol ;  Weiss, J Hepatol 2017 ; Habib Gut 2018 ;  Tardelli, Hepatology 2019 ; Tardelli, J Lipid Res 2019 ; Allaire, J Hepatol 2019).
  2. Le rôle des cellules de l’immunité adaptatives Th17 ainsi que des cellules à l’interface entre l’immunité adaptative et innée que sont les lymphocytes T invariants associés aux muqueuses (cellules MAIT) dans le contrôle de l’inflammation à différentes étapes de la progression de la maladie (Guillot, Hepatology 2014 ; Hegde Nat Com 2018 ; Toubal Nat Rev Immunol 2019).
  3. De nouveaux biomarqueurs et cibles thérapeutiques dans la NAFLD, la cirrhose et l’ACLF (Moreau, Gastroenterology 2013,Gustot Hepatology 2016, Claria J Hepatol 2016, Claria Hepatology 2018, Fernandez, Gastroenterology 2019).
  4. Le projet QUID-NASH, porté par le Pr. Dominique Valla vise à développer une biopsie virtuelle du foie pour le diagnostic de la stéatohépatite non alcoolique (NAFLD) chez le patient diabétique, mais également de faciliter le développement de traitements spécifiques de la NASH. Ce projet intègre des données quantitatives en radiomique, métabolomique, transcriptomique et génomique.

 

Outre le RHU QUID-NASH, notre équipe fait partie intégrante de différents réseaux nationaux et internationaux: European Consortium for the Study of Chronic Liver Failure (EF-CLIF), le réseau franco-indien Laboratoire international associé avec l’Institute of Liver and Biliary Sciences à Delhi), le LabEx Inflamex.

Financements: Inserm, Université Paris-Diderot, LabEx Inflamex, Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR), Fondation pour la Recherche médicale (FRM), Association Française pour l’étude du Foie, Société Nationale Française de Gastroentérologie, et de réanimation (AFEF, SNFGE, SFAR), RHU-QUID-NASH, Inserm-Transfert, Assistance Publique Hopitaux de Paris (PHRC).

 

Publications marquantes

  • Date de publication : 01 juillet 2020 En savoir +

    Glutamate Signaling in Alcohol-associated Fatty Liver: « Pas de Deux » Hepatology

    Auteurs : Ariane Mallat Lotersztajn Sophie

  • Date de publication : 15 avril 2020 En savoir +

    LC3-associated phagocytosis protects against inflammation and liver fibrosis via immunoreceptor inhibitory signaling. Sci Transl Med

    Auteurs : Wan Jinghong Weiss Emmanuel Ben Mkaddem Sanae Mabire Morgane Pierre-Marie Choinier Olivia Picq Tristan Thibault-Sogorb Pushpa Hegde Dorsa Pishvaie Bens Marcelle Linda Broer Gilgenkrantz Hélène Moreau Richard Saveanu Loredana Patrice Codogno Monteiro Renato Lotersztajn Sophie

  • Date de publication : 01 octobre 2019 En savoir +

    Mucosal-associated invariant T cells and disease Nat Rev Immunol. 2019 Oct;19(10):643-657.

    Auteurs : Toubal A Nel I Lotersztajn Sophie Lehuen A

  • Date de publication : 01 mai 2019 En savoir +

    Autophagy in liver diseases: Time for translation? J Hepatol. 2019 May;70(5):985-998.

    Auteurs : Allaire Manon Rautou Pierre-Emmanuel Codogno P Lotersztajn Sophie

  • Date de publication : 01 avril 2019 En savoir +

    Age and liver transplantation J Hepatol. 2019 Apr;70(4):745-758.

    Auteurs : Durand François Levitsky J Cauchy F Gilgenkrantz Hélène Soubrane Olivier Francoz Claire

  • Date de publication : 01 décembre 2018 En savoir +

    Effects of Long-term Norfloxacin Therapy in Patients With Advanced Cirrhosis Gastroenterology. 2018 Dec;155(6):1816-1827.May;66(5):930-941

    Auteurs : Moreau Richard Elkrief Laure Bureau C Perarnau JM Thévenot T Saliba F Louvet A Nahon P Lannes A Anty R Hillaire S Pasquet B Ozenne V Rudler M Ollivier-Hourmand I Robic MA Di Martino V Ripault MP Pauwels A Grangé JD Carbonell N Bronowicki JP Payancé A Rautou Pierre-Emmanuel Valla Dominique Gault N Lebrec D NORFLOCIR Trial Investigators

  • Date de publication : 09 octobre 2018 En savoir +

    Inhibition of monoacylglycerol lipase, an anti-inflammatory and antifibrogenic strategy in the liver Gut. 2018 Oct 9. pii: gutjnl-2018-316137. doi: 10.1136/gutjnl-2018-316137

    Auteurs : Habib Aida Chokr D Wan Jinghong Hegde P Mabire Morgane Siebert M Ribeiro-Parenti Lara Le Gall Maude Letteron Philippe Pilard N Mansouri Abdellah Brouillet A Tardelli M Weiss Emmanuel Le Faouder P Guillou H Cravatt BF Moreau Richard Trauner M Lotersztajn Sophie

  • Date de publication : 01 juin 2018 En savoir +

    AXIN deficiency in human and mouse hepatocytes induces hepatocellular carcinoma in the absence of β-catenin activation. J Hepatol. 2018 Jun;68(6):1203-1213

    Auteurs : Abitbol S Dahmani R Coulouarn C Ragazzon B Mlecnik B Senni N Savall M Bossard P Sohier P Drouet V Tournier E Dumont F Sanson R Calderaro J Zucman-Rossi J Vasseur-Cognet M Just PA Terris B Perret C Gilgenkrantz Hélène

  • Date de publication : 01 juin 2018 En savoir +

    Mucosal-associated invariant T cells are a profibrogenic immune cell population in the liver Nat Commun. 2018 Jun 1;9(1):2146

    Auteurs : Hegde P Weiss Emmanuel Paradis Valérie Wan Jinghong Mabire Morgane Sukriti S Rautou Pierre-Emmanuel Albuquerque Miguel Picq O Gupta AC Ferrere G Gilgenkrantz Hélène Kiaf B Toubal A Beaudoin L Letteron Philippe Moreau Richard Lehuen A Lotersztajn Sophie

  • Date de publication : 14 août 2015 En savoir +

    Macrophage autophagy protects against liver fibrosis in mice. Autophagy. 2015;11(8):1280-92.

    Auteurs : Lodder J Denaës T Chobert MN Wan Jinghong El Benna Jamel Pawlotsky JM Lotersztajn Sophie Teixeira-Clerc F

  • Date de publication : 06 janvier 2014 En savoir +

    M2 Kupffer cells promote M1 Kupffer cell apoptosis: a protective mechanism against alcoholic and nonalcoholic fatty liver disease Hepatology. 2014 Jan;59(1):130-42

    Auteurs : Wan Jinghong Benkdane M Teixeira-Clerc F Bonnafous S Louvet A Lafdil F Pecker F Tran A Gual A Mallat A Lotersztajn Sophie Pavoine C

 
 

Newsletter du CRI


Les dernières publications

  • Date de publication : 03 août 2020 En savoir +

    The protein kinase A negatively regulates reactive oxygen species production by phosphorylating gp91phox/NOX2 in human neutrophils Free Radic Biol Med

    Auteurs : Houssam Raad Hussein Mouawia Hamad Hassan Mohamed El-Seblani Riad Arabi-Derkawi Tarek Boussetta Gougerot-Pocidalo Marie-Anne Dang Pham My-Chan El Benna Jamel

  • Date de publication : 11 juillet 2020 En savoir +

    Ferroptosis in Liver Diseases: An Overview Int J Mol Sci

    Auteurs : Martina Maria Capelletti Manceau Hana Puy Hervé Katell Peoc'h

  • Date de publication : 19 juin 2020 En savoir +

    Nod2 Protects the Gut From Experimental Colitis Spreading to Small Intestine J Crohns Colitis

    Auteurs : Al Nabhani Z Berrebi D Martinez-Vinson C Montcuquet N Madre C Roy Maryline Ogier-Denis Eric Dussaillant M Cerf-Bensussan N Zouali H Daniel F Barreau F Hugot Jean-Pierre