Useful contact

– For recruitment and internship files: rhcom.u1149@inserm.fr

– For your orders: orders.u1149@inserm.fr

– To request a computer intervention: info.u1149@inserm.fr

– For missions: missions.u1149@inserm.fr

– For Health and Safety questions: hs.u1149@inserm.fr

– For the set-up and questions relating to a Research project: projects.u1149@inserm.fr

– To report a problem with the website: com.u1149@inserm.fr 

– Website editorial committee: To propose news, events and publications to add to the website: webedition.u1149@inserm.fr


 
_MG_6012

Basophils, Mast cells and Immunopathology (BMI)

Team Charles / Blank

Department Nephrology, Immunology and Hematology

 

Leader

 

Line-up

 

Presentation

Besides their well-known role in allergies, mast cells (MC) and basophils (Ba) are important orchestrators of the inflammatory process with possible beneficial and pathological consequences. The team’s project focuses on the role of mast cells and basophils in immunopathology mainly in a non-allergic context using both fundamental and clinical approaches with local clinical departments. The strategy is based on the identification of the receptors expressed on these cells, their signaling pathways and the mechanism controlling the subsequent release of inflammatory mediators and on the effect of these mediators on tissue function, particularly on kidney, in animal models and patient samples. Both approaches are tightly linked to the analysis of therapeutic/prognostic/diagnostic potential of each of these steps using in vitro and in vivo approaches. Our team is particularly focused on the study of the role of basophils in lupus nephritis and of mast cells in renal diseases and fibrosis development as well as in tissue transplantation.

The major research axes developed in our team are the following:

(A) Study of the molecular mechanisms and effectors regulating inflammatory mediator secretion in mast cells and basophils. This includes the study of new receptors of basophil function as well as the study of early and late signaling events involved in degranulation and cytokine chemokine secretion (axes 1-3).

(B) Study of the role of mast cells and basophils in immunopathology. This includes the analysis of the role of mast cells and their interaction with other inflammatory cells in fibrosis development, acute kidney injury and transplantation. The crosstalk of basophils with other innate and adaptive immune cells in the development of autoimmune diseases (in particular systemic lupus erythematous) is studied. We also investigate the role of these two cell compartments in the amplification of lupus disease flares and severe cardiovascular outcomes in a translational approach (axes 4-6).

 

Landmark publications

  • Publication date : 20 November 2018 More

    Mast Cell Degranulation Exacerbates Skin Rejection by Enhancing Neutrophil Recruitment Front Immunol. 9:2690

    Autors : Ngo Nyekel Flavie Lebourdais-Pacreau Emeline Benadda Samira Msallam Rasha Åbrink Magnus Pejler Gunnar Davoust Jean Benhamou Marc Charles Nicolas Launay Pierre Blank Ulrich Gautier Gregory

  • Publication date : 03 July 2018 More

    Tomosyn functions as a PKCδ-regulated fusion clamp in mast cell degranulation Sci Signal. 2018, 11(537)

    Autors : Madera-Salcedo IK Danelli L Tiwari N Dema N Lebourdais-Pacreau Emeline Vibhushan Shamila Birnbaum J Agabriel C Liabeuf V Klingebiel C Menasche G Macias-Silva M Benhamou Marc Charles Nicolas González-Espinosa C Vitte J Blank Ulrich

  • Publication date : 20 February 2018 More

    Prostaglandin D2 amplifies lupus disease through basophil accumulation in lymphoid organs Nat Commun. 2018, 9(1):725

    Autors : Pellefigues Christophe Dema B Lamri Yasmine Saidoune Fanny Chavarot Nathalie Lohéac C Lebourdais-Pacreau Emeline Dussiot M Bidault C Marquet F Jablonski M Chemouny JM Jouan F Dossier A Chauveheid MP Gobert D Papo Thomas Karasuyama H Sacre Karim Daugas Eric Charles Nicolas

  • Publication date : 15 March 2017 More

    Early Phase Mast Cell Activation Determines the Chronic Outcome of Renal Ischemia-Reperfusion Injury J Immunol. 2017, 198(6):2374-2382

    Autors : Danelli L Madjene LC Madera-Salcedo I Gautier Gregory Lebourdais-Pacreau Emeline Ben Mkaddem Sanae Charles Nicolas Daugas Eric Launay Pierre Blank Ulrich

  • Publication date : 10 March 2017 More

    Phospholipid scramblase 1 amplifies anaphylactic reactions in vivo PLoS One. 2017, 12(3):e0173815

    Autors : Kassas-Guediri A Bex-Coudrat Julie Lebourdais-Pacreau Emeline Launay Pierre Monteiro Renato Blank Ulrich Charles Nicolas Benhamou Marc

 
 

Newsletter du site Web

08/02 : Modification du code pour une accélération nette du site web. Il est possible que certaines pages dirigent vers une erreur, dans ce cas, merci de nous informer via le mail : com.u1149@inserm.fr 03/12 : Passage du site web en HTTPS - site web maintenant sécurisé 30/11 : Ajout des contacts utiles sur la colonne de gauche (intranet)

Latest Publications

  • Publication date : 23 March 2021 More

    Diverse innate stimuli activate basophils through pathways involving Syk and IκB kinases PNAS

    Autors : Pellefigues Christophe Palak Mehta Sally Chappell Bibek Yumnam Sam Old Mali Camberis Graham Le Gros

  • Publication date : 30 December 2020 More

    Mast Cell Chymase and Kidney Disease International Journal of Molecular Sciences

    Autors : Vibhushan Shamila Bratti Manuela Juan Eduardo Montero-Hernández Alaa El Ghoneimi Benhamou Marc Charles Nicolas Daugas Eric Blank Ulrich

  • Publication date : 21 December 2020 More

    Liver stiffness by transient elastography to detect porto-sinusoidal vascular liver disease with portal hypertension Hepatology

    Autors : Elkrief Laure Marie Lazareth Sylvie Chevret Paradis Valérie Marta Magaz Lorraine Blaise Laura Rubbia-Brandt Moga Lucile Durand François Audrey Payancé Plessier Aurélie Cendrine Chaffaut Valla Dominique Marion Malphettes Alba Diaz Jean-Charles Nault Pierre Nahon Etienne Audureau Vlad Ratziu Castera Laurent Juan-Carlos Garcia Pagan Nathalie Ganne-Carrie Rautou Pierre-Emmanuel ANRS CO12 CirVir group

Responsable

Présentation

Outre leur rôle bien connu dans les allergies, les mastocytes (MC) et les basophiles (Ba) sont des orchestrateurs importants du processus inflammatoire pouvant avoir des conséquences bénéfiques et pathologiques. Le projet de l’équipe porte sur le rôle des mastocytes et des basophiles en immunopathologie, principalement dans un contexte non allergique, en utilisant des approches à la fois fondamentales et cliniques avec les départements cliniques locaux. La stratégie repose sur l’identification des récepteurs exprimés sur ces cellules, leurs voies de signalisation et le mécanisme contrôlant la libération ultérieure de médiateurs inflammatoires ainsi que sur l’effet de ces médiateurs sur la fonction tissulaire, en particulier sur le rein, dans des modèles animaux et des échantillons de patients. Les deux approches sont étroitement liées à l’analyse du potentiel thérapeutique / pronostique / diagnostique de chacune de ces étapes en utilisant des approches in vitro et in vivo. Notre équipe est particulièrement axée sur l’étude du rôle des basophiles dans la néphrite lupique et des mastocytes dans le développement des maladies rénales et de la fibrose ainsi que dans la transplantation de tissus.

Les principaux axes de recherche développés dans notre équipe sont les suivants:

(A) Etude des mécanismes moléculaires et des effecteurs régulant la sécrétion de médiateur inflammatoire dans les mastocytes et les basophiles. Cela inclut l’étude de nouveaux récepteurs de la fonction basophile ainsi que l’étude des événements de signalisation précoce et tardive impliqués dans la dégranulation et la sécrétion de chimiokines par les cytokines (axes 1 à 3).

(B) Etude du rôle des mastocytes et des basophiles en immunopathologie. Cela comprend l’analyse du rôle des mastocytes et de leur interaction avec d’autres cellules inflammatoires dans le développement de la fibrose, des lésions rénales aiguës et de la transplantation. La diaphonie des basophiles avec d’autres cellules immunitaires innées et adaptatives dans le développement de maladies auto-immunes (en particulier le lupus érythémateux systémique) est étudiée. Nous avons également étudié le rôle de ces deux compartiments cellulaires dans l’amplification des poussées de maladie du lupus et les conséquences cardiovasculaires graves dans une approche translationnelle (axes 4 à 6).